Issue #9           

Winter 2005           


The Basin Bulletin   
Newsletter for Stakeholders of the Raritan Basin Watershed    



Raritan Highlands Compact


The Raritan Highlands Compact (the "Compact") is a cooperative organization of nine member municipalities in southwest Morris County (Chester Borough, Chester Township, Mendham Borough, Mendham Township, Mt. Arlington Borough, Mt. Olive Township, Randolph Township, Roxbury Township, Washington Township) and the County of Morris.  Morris Tomorrow was also instrumental in forming the Compact.  Similar to the Ten Towns Great Swamp Water Management Committee and the Rockaway River Cabinet, after whom the Compact is modeled, its central purpose is to establish a common and comprehensive watershed model, and a set of model regulations and operating practices, in order to protect and improve water quality in the Raritan River and its aquifers.  In addition, the Compact members will work together to meet the new storm water regulations and to help each of the member towns carry out the water preservation purposes of the Highlands Preservation Act.  Joan G. Fischer, Executive Director of the Compact, has established an office in the Chester Township Municipal Building, where she can be reached at 908- 879 5520, or


Back to Basin Bulletin